Root Vegetable Roast

With a lot of root vegetables coming at me in the winter season of my Boston Organics box, I found myself with an overload of veggies I’d never or rarely worked with: rutabaga and kohlrabi.

To keep things simple, I just did a root vegetable roast that ended up being unbelievably amazing!

  • Peel (with harder root veggies, this may involve slicing the skin off with a small knife) and chop all root veggies: rutabaga, kohlrabi, carrots, potatoes (sweet and/or regular), beets, parsnips, etc. Kohlrabi and parsnips have a bit in the flavor, which sweet potatoes can mellow out.
  • Douse with olive oil and sea salt (other seasoning optional)
  • Roast around 400 degrees until browning and soft.

Here’s my before picture:

Pre-roasted root veggies
Pre-roasted root veggies

After, looks something like this!

Roasted Root Veggies (from amihungry.com)
Roasted Root Veggies (from amihungry.com)
One Comment Add yours

  1. sputnins says:

    1) Yayy!! I was wondering when you were going to post again!!

    1) I was in the wild harvest aisle at shaws where the gluten free stuff is and i overheard someone looking at the gluten-free stuff and talking to their babies and saying ‘hmm, I wonder if this has dairy in it.” I stopped her and told her about your blog and she got excited, but I couldn’t find it when I googled it!!! I told her to trying googling cheap gluten-free vegan too, but if you make a card for your blog I will distribute it in situations like that!!

    2) rutabaga can also be mashed like sweet potatoes

    3) I made an amaaazing kohlrabi dish: http://www.nytimes.com/2012/03/06/health/nutrition/greek-style-kohlrabi-pie-or-gratin-with-dill-and-feta-recipes-for-health.html?_r=0did this without dill and without the phyllo dough, just did a gratin. I know you wouldn’t do the eggs/cheese but I bet a lot of oil (haha) / non-dairy cheese substitute would work. It was delicious!!

Leave a Reply

